Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin, India’s two premier spinners have been rested for the three-match T20 series against England beginning January 26. In a statement released by BCCI, legspinner Amit Mishra and Jammu and Kashmir allrounder Parvez Rasool have been named in place of them.


India have added legspinner Amit Mishra and offspinner Parvez Rasool to their squad for the three T20s against England, choosing to rest their first-choice spin pair of R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja for the series. Ashwin and Jadeja had been part of the initial 15-man squad for the series, which also includes legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal.

The series begins on January 26 in Kanpur, rounding off England’s full tour of India.

Jadeja and Ashwin combined for seven wickets in the three ODIs with the offspinner going wicketless in two matches. Jadeja on the other hand, following a fruitful Test series, could manage only 29 with the bat. Considering the plethora of injuries sustained by the Indian players, the move is understandable on the part of the board as Ashwin and Jadeja have been playing constantly.

Mishra played two Tests against England in the recent home series and picked up five wickets. In the home ODIs against New Zealand before that, he was India’s top wicket-taker with 15 strikes at 14.33 and an economy rate of 4.79. He had played that series, too, in the absence of Ashwin and Jadeja, who were rested.

In all, Mishra has played eight T20Is, and taken 14 wickets at 13.71 and an economy rate of 6.40. Only one of those eight T20Is have come in the last year; before playing West Indies in Florida last August, his previous T20I was in early 2014 at the World T20 in Bangladesh where he finished as India’s second-highest wicket-taker behind Ashwin.


Rasool, who is handy with the bat down the order, has played just one international game till date – against Bangladesh in Dhaka in mid-2014. When he was selected for India A to play England in a warm-up one-dayer in January 2013, during what was a stand-out Ranji season for him with bat and ball, he became the first cricketer from Jammu & Kashmir to be selected in an Indian team to play an international side.

Updated India squad

KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

In: Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool

Out: R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja